TEXAS SPACE GRANT CONSORTIUM
ABOUT TSGCHIGHER EDUCATION FACULTYHIGHER EDUCATION STUDENTSK-12 EDUCATION
STANDARD TEXT ENLARGE TEXT ABOUT TEXT SETTINGS
TSGC NEWS

TSGC NEWS ARCHIVE

LISTSERVE MANAGEMENT

 

 

 

PROGRAM CONTACTS

jurgens@tsgc.utexas.edu

TSGC NEWS

Curiosity at the Base of Mt Sharp: New Science for the Extended Mission
October 21, 2014 & October 22, 2014

EVENT DESCRIPTION: Curiosity at the Base of Mt Sharp: New Science for the Extended Mission
Interact with Mars experts at the NASA Johnson Space Center (JSC) as you learn about the Curiosity Mission currently at Mars. This event will engage you and your students as you learn about the successes leading up to the Curiosity rovers current position at the base of Mt. Sharp. You will also hear about the exciting discoveries the rover continues to make. [This event is geared towards students and teachers in grades 5-12. Other grade levels are welcome to participate. The speaker will engage participants with lots of images and with thought-provoking questions to involve them during the session!]

EVENT DATES/TIMES: This event will be scheduled for two different dates and times:

  • Tuesday, October 21, 2014 from 1-2pm Eastern (12-1pm Central; 11-12pm Mountain; 10-11am Pacific) (*Note: AZ is currently the same as Pacific time.)
  • Wednesday, October 22, 2014 from 10-11am Eastern (9-10am Central; 8-9am Mountain; 7-8am Pacific) (*Note: AZ is currently the same as Pacific time.)
  • If you are unable to participate in a live event, you can still register to receive a copy of the archived recording. Those who participate in a live session will also receive a link to the archived recording.

Presentations will be ~45-50 minutes plus 10-15 minutes for Q & A.

REGISTRATION INFORMATION:
Register at the following link: http://eeabstudents.wikispaces.com/Webinar+Registration

THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT THE EVENT:

  • WEBINAR CONNECTION INFORMATION:
    • Once you register for the event I will email you Webinar Testing and Connection Information for the event within a couple of days of the event.
    • Testing will be available the day before the event.
    • We STRONGLY encourage you to conduct a test so you can be familiar with the login process for WebEx as well as test your phone line or use of Google Voice or SKYPE. [Please note: WebEx will not allow you to hear the presenter through your computer, which is why you need an external phone line. A speaker phone, Google Voice or SKYPE can serve as an external phone line enabling you to hear the speaker.]
  • Participant Interaction:
    • Periodically during the event, the speaker will ask questions and will want you/your students to provide your answers in the chat window available through WebEx. For this reason, it is probably more effective to have 1-2 classes of students in your room participating (as opposed to 200 students in an auditorium).
    • Consider assigning a reliable student(s) to type answers into the chat window, or alternatively you can get input from your students and you can type in their answers.
    • If you wish to have small groups of students at multiple computer stations, you can participate that way as well. Much of this depends on the availability you have to computers and your wishes in having your students participate.
  • Q & A:
    • Due to the large number of participants that will likely be on the line, we will wait until the end of the conference for questions from participating groups. Do not have students type in questions at other times.
    • At the end of the session we will simply ask you/your students to type your questions into the chat window. We do our best to get to as many questions as possible.
  • Pictures of Participants:
    • Its always great to see pictures of groups that have participated in our events. If you have the chance to take pictures of your students during the event, we'd love to see them.